Danny Smith Steals The Show At Caney Valley Speedway!

Danny Smith Steals The Show At Caney Valley Speedway!

Bryan Hulbert – CANEY, Kan. (July 16, 2022) Twelfth to fifth before the final caution at Caney Valley Speedway, the car to watch on the restart was Danny Smith as the wily veteran shot to the top of the track and rolled to the win with the United Sprint League.

Surviving a myriad of cautions throughout the 25-lap affair, the final break in the action came while working Lap 19. Waving just as Matt Sherrell took the point from Kyle Clark, the top three hit the line before the caution flew.

Moving Clark back to the lead on the restart, the top four kept to the tires as Smith bounced to the top. Picking up two spots immediately, the Same Day Tire and Auto No. 5$ moved back to the bottom and was on the bumper of Matt Sherrell by Lap 20.

Returning to the high line as the trio worked through the third and fourth turns, Smith worked to second with Clark holding the lead by 0.083-seconds. Keeping to the top through the first and second turns, Smith shot to the point on Lap 22.

Keeping pace from there, Smith pulled away by 1.442-seconds.

Kyle Clark held on for second, with Matt Sherrell third. Rees Moran rolled back through the field after visiting the work area on Lap 5. Leading the opening four laps, Steven Shebester ended up fifth.

Cameron Hagin crossed sixth with Grady Mercer seventh. Moving up from 17th, Brett Wilson made it to eighth with Ty Hulsey ninth. Recovering from a late race caution, Andrew Deal ended up tenth.

The United Sprint League races again on Saturday, August 6, at Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa, Okla.

The United Sprint League is the continuation of Wingless Sprint Car Racing in Oklahoma. Founded in 2018 as the Wingless Sprint Cars of Oklahoma, the series was purchased by Terry Mattox and Kerry Gorby in 2022 and transformed it into the United Sprint League. For the complete lineup of events, notes, news, and points, log onto

Race Results:

United Sprint League
Caney Valley Speedway (Caney, Kan.)
Saturday, July 16, 2022

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 71-Tanner Conn[1]; 2. 9$-Kyle Clark[6]; 3. 31-Casey Wills[8]; 4. 42-Grady Mercer[7]; 5. 22-David Stephenson[5]; 6. 39-Kimberly Tyre[3]; 7. 55-Johnny Kent[4]; 8. 13$-Len Larkin[2]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 24C-Craig Carroll[1]; 2. 5X-Matt Sherrell[2]; 3. 007-Cody Carter[4]; 4. 5$-Danny Smith[3]; 5. 5H-Cameron Hagin[6]; 6. 23A-Brett Wilson[5]; 7. 15D-Andrew Deal[7]; 8. N20-Cole Nichols[8]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 22M-Rees Moran[3]; 2. 16S-Steven Shebester[5]; 3. 29G-Gerald Smith[1]; 4. 24H-Ty Hulsey[4]; 5. 69-Greg York[2]; 6. 8R-Ryker Pace[7]; 7. 97-Kevin Cummings[6]

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 5$-Danny Smith[12]; 2. 9$-Kyle Clark[4]; 3. 5X-Matt Sherrell[7]; 4. 22M-Rees Moran[2]; 5. 16S-Steven Shebester[1]; 6. 5H-Cameron Hagin[13]; 7. 42-Grady Mercer[5]; 8. 23A-Brett Wilson[17]; 9. 24H-Ty Hulsey[11]; 10. 15D-Andrew Deal[19]; 11. 8R-Ryker Pace[15]; 12. N20-Cole Nichols[22]; 13. 39-Kimberly Tyre[18]; 14. 31-Casey Wills[3]; 15. 97-Kevin Cummings[20]; 16. 69-Greg York[16]; 17. 29G-Gerald Smith[10]; 18. 24C-Craig Carroll[6]; 19. 71-Tanner Conn[8]; 20. 22-David Stephenson[14]; 21. 007-Cody Carter[9]; 22. 55-Johnny Kent[21]; 23. 13$-Len Larkin[23]

Forgot Password?